Joint Force Headquarters

Joint Force Headquarters of Rapid City is one of four major commands in the South Dakota Army National Guard and is a critical element for all 43 units across the state providing command and control of essential services in administration, intelligence, training, logistics, maintenance, communications, Soldier and family services and other support functions.

JFHQ also provides command and control oversight of four units with about 140 Soldiers in the Rapid City area. These units include the Recruting and Retention Command, 82nd Civil Support Team, Detachment 2, 174th Cyber Protection Team, and the 707th JAG Detachment.

With more than 200 members assigned, the main focus for JFHQ is to support nearly 3,200 members of the SDARNG, and to provide trained and equipped, ready forces capable of mobilizing and deploying in support of state and federal missions and conducting missions authorized by the governor and/or the National Command Authority.