Today’s National Guard remains strong with nearly 4,200 Soldiers and Airmen available to execute its missions. The SDNG resides in 21 communities throughout South Dakota and is comprised of 42 Army Guard units and 17 Air Guard units. These units provide a variety of missions to include command and control, engineering, field artillery, transportation, logistics, maintenance, communications, aviation, military police, medical, firefighting, public affairs and personnel support services.

The SDNG is divided into different task forces to provide assistance to our local communities throughout the state in the event of an emergency. Separated by geographical regions, units are assigned to each task force providing personnel and equipment for response to severe weather, fires, natural disasters, search and rescue operations, civil disturbances, or homeland defense.